Meine liebe Familie und Freunden [My dear family and friends]

Bowling on P-Day
Bowling on P-Day
Doing service to stop the flood in Dresden.
Doing service to stop the flood in Dresden.

Ich bin sehr dankbar für alles – btw – meine ganze email werde auf deutsch sein.  Es ist meine mutter sprache jetzt aber es tut mir lied ich kan nicht auf deustch perfect schreiben. [I am so thankful for everything – by the way – my whole email will be in German.  It is my mother language, yet I am sorry that I can’t write in German more perfectly.]  I’m kidding haha.   Aber [but]…hello my lovely family and friends 🙂

So I’m sure you’re all so curious about what’s happening next transfer, but this week was just so great I don’t even know where to start.  So I will be staying in Dresden 🙂 however I have no clue who my companion is going to be yet.  Sister T is on her way back home this week.  And the reason I don’t know that yet is because I will be going to Berlin with Sister D on Thursday and we will both be… TRAINING.. crazy, right?  Yeah.  So I’m so super excited.  It’ll be great.  So this Thursday Sister D and I catch our bahn [train] to berlin at 5:53 am then after a long bahn ride we will arrive to Berlin, have a meeting and then figure out who our new companions are.  It’s going to be great.  I’m so excited.   

Anyway, so what else happened this week? So on Monday last week I mentioned how we were all going bowling.  We did and it was so much fun.  Like seriously, it was great.  It felt like we were in America again.  Then as you all know, it’s been raining here like crazy.  Not the last couple days, but it was raining for about 2 weeks.  So on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday we did service.  For hours and hours we lifted sand bags and all that fun stuff.  It was great though, it felt so good to serve in like physical ways, because obviously everyday I’m serving the Lord, but it was great.  It was so cool to help and it was just crazy how much water there was.  I was definitely lucky I had my rain boots plus they needed anyone who had rain boots to do the hard work.  Let’s just say I’M RIPPED now – haha – just kidding.  But I was sore for a while, in a good way of course!  

So on Tuesday, we had an appointment with our Chinese investigator.  Sister D and I found him our first Saturday here, at the college, and so we had a lesson Tuesday and we taught him about what feeling the Holy Ghost or the Spirit was and it was just an incredible lesson.  The Spirit was so strong.  We also talked a little about faith and baptism and the Holy Ghost and at the end the Spirit was so strong I was prompted to ask him to be baptized and he accepted.  It was the most amazing thing ever.  He will be getting baptized June 30th 🙂 and it might have to be pushed back depending on when he can get surgery but if it has to get pushed back THEN IT’LL BE ON MY BIRTHDAY!!!  Talk about the best birthday ever – witnessing a baptism.  Then on Saturday we taught him again, this time about the plan of salvation and it went so great he loved it and knows that it’s real and that all of those great things really come after this life.  He believes it all and has such a strong testimony about it.  I told him in the lesson that to make it to the Celestial Kingdom he needs to be baptized and that he will be making that step soon and he just lit up when I said that, and smiled really huge and looked so excited; it was great.  We asked him to say the closing prayer, so he did it in Chinese, like he always does, and of course we never understand it but we asked him about the prayer and he said he prayed for his family and thanked Heavenly Father for sending us to him so he can learn more about this church and that he knows it is true.  Then he came to another person’s baptism yesterday and we didn’t talk to him at all during the whole thing cause we wanted the Spirit to testify to him it’s true and that it’s the right thing and at the end we asked how he felt and what he thought and he said it was the most beautiful thing he has seen.  He said it was a perfect way of baptism.  It was so great.  Then we had to leave for an eating appointment but he stayed and hung out at the church for a while.  He’s so great.  He is truly a miracle and a blessing.  I know that we were led to him that one day while finding and I know that he was prepared by God and it’ll be a great blessing in his life.  I know that this church is true and that through the Spirit you all can know that and through prayer.  I LOVE THIS CHURCH SO MUCH.  

Anyway, haha, so it was Elder A’s birthday this week, which was fun.  I made a cake.  A ‘nougat bit’ cake which is Elder A and Elder S and my favorite cereal.  So I tried to make a cake that tasted like it and I NAILED IT – it was so good.  It was a 2-layer chocolate cake – but German cake so it wasn’t too strong or too sweet, so it was great with nutella inside the cake and frosted around the outside.  It was DELICIOUS and he loved it.

Oh btw, so Sister D and I are both staying in Dresden obviously, but Elder S and Elder M are both being transferred 😦 and we will get 2 different Elders. 🙂  I just have so much to tell but I don’t want this email to be too long but pretty much this week was great.  Every week I just keep realizing how much my German is progressing.  So Sunday we had an essen termin [dinner appointment] with a church member and she is just great.  She is from Russia but great at speaking German.  She is actually the one we ate with my very first Sunday in Germany.  And then yesterday, we were talking and I just said to her, in German of course, that I can’t believe I sat in the same spot my first week and had no clue what she was saying and I couldn’t say anything back to her.  And then sitting there yesterday I understood everything and I could talk back to her the whole 2 hours in German.  It was INCREDIBLE.  I just can’t believe how blessed I’ve been with learning German.  It’s seriously a gift from God because it sure isn’t me.   But it’s so incredible and every week when I come on here to email, it just makes me think and remember that I’m just so blessed to be able to email you all once a week and to be able to tell you all these things that go on in my mission.  I’m so thankful for all of your prayers.  I can truly see them every single day and I’m so thankful to be a messenger and representative for God and Jesus Christ.  It’s especially cool for me to see how my prayers started when I came here and how they are now.  They are so much better and just…oh my goodness… I’m blessed.  I love you all so much and thank you for everything.

Ich weiss das die Kirche wahr ist und Ich weiss das Jesus den Sohn Gottes ist.  Ich weiss das die Gabe der Zungen wahr ist, und das Deutschland vorbereitet ist.  Ich bin sehr dankbar in Dresden zu dienen, und Ich hab so viel liebe für die Dresden geminde, und auch für mieine Familie und die gelegenheit in Deutchland zu dienen.  Ich hab so viel lieb für alles.  [I know that the Church is true and I know that Jesus is the Son of God.  I know that the Gift of Tongues is real and that Germany is prepared.   I am very thankful to work in Dresden and I have so much love for the Dresden community and for my family and the opportunity to work in Germany.  I have so much love for everything.]

xoxoxoxo Sister Ahrenholtz

Leave a Reply

