It happened!!!

Dresden missionaries at the Freiberg temple.
Dresden missionaries at the Freiberg temple.
Temple Sisters
Temple Sisters

So the news I have for this week is… we had a baptism.  A lady from Gambia.

She was taught by the Elders in January of this year but once they taught her the law of chastity she stopped learning from them because her boyfriend didn’t approve.  So then on August 22nd the Elders asked if we would go check on this lady.  They thought she would have interest one day again.  So NATURLICH WE SAID YES and we went by her house and ever since then we have been going about 3 times a week.  She is just fantastic.  She speaks a language called OLAF but she also speaks a little English and a little German.  So that has been really fun and thankfully we have the language of the Spirit and that can be translated into all languages. She has 3 kids.  She has one daughter who is 8 and is in Gambia, then she has one daughter here that is 5 and one son here that is 7 months old. They are so adorable. 

SHE IS SO AMAZING.

So we have been teaching her so much, she really just has so much faith in God.  It’s amazing.  So she made it to her first covenant with God. Now, on to the Baptism itself.  It was so beautiful when she changed into her white dress.  Her daughter came up to her and said, “Mom you look like an angel.” (In German of course because her daughter can only speak German).  It was so adorable. Also, we have asked her daughter many times if she wants to get baptized when she is 8 and she always say JA ABER ICH MÜSS MEIN MUTTI FRAGEN [yes but I must ask my Mother]. And of course her Mom says YES! 

Back to the Baptism.  The whole thing was in English. Sister Tenney gave a spiritual thought about how much she loves her and always knew she was ready to be baptized.  It was super cool.  Then Sister Tenney took off her name tag and said. “I know that one day your children will be wearing a name tag just like this and they will teach people about the gospel just like the Sisters taught you.” It was so cool.  Then…Sister Rasmussen, the daughter and I sang a song called “When I am Baptized” in front of everyone and it was a total tear jerker but super cute and then it was time for her to get baptized. 

1. I like to look for rainbows whenever there is rain; And ponder on the beauty of an earth made clean again.

2. I know when I am baptized my wrongs are washed away, And I can be forgiven and improve myself each day.

Chorus: I want my life to be as clean as earth right after rain. I want to be the best I can and live with God again.

Sister Rasmussen and I walked her to the baptismal font and waited at the top of the stairs while she was baptized. It was so cool. Sister Rasmussen and I were just standing at the top of the stairs hugging and in total AWE. 

It was so cool.  Then Isatou came out of the water and we gave her a hug and she got changed then she came back in and we sang and finished the baptism service.  It was absolutely amazing, but just like every fairytale it has a life lesson at the end and that lesson would be something our newest member taught us. 

All you need is to trust in the Lord – which is totally possible.  She just didn’t care how her baptism was, she didn’t care who was there, she didn’t care who spoke or who did anything.  All she cared about was the fact that she was getting baptized and she only cares about what God thinks of her and it is so amazing.

Also, this coming Saturday is an amazing day for us missionaries because it marks the one year mark when the age for girls to serve a mission was changed from 21 to 19.  And here we are, out here serving the Lord.

I still remember that moment like it was yesterday and its just so amazing to me that a full year has gone by since then. I love being on a mission so much and wouldn’t trade this opportunity for anything in the world.  It’s making me a better…Karly (whoever that is), a better missionary, a better church member, and will make me a better mother and wife one day. It’s amazing. Really.  Sister Rasmussen and I just always talk about how we are so amazed how so many women have no clue what a mission is like because really if I were not able to have this opportunity it would just be so…weird and just so crazy. 

BUT IT’S OKAY BECAUSE I DO! 

I love you all so very much and hope you have an amazing week. 

LOVE YOU

XOXO Sister Ahrenholtz

BTW we also were eating at a place for lunch last week and they had something from the Rockies on TV about Todd Helton in Colorado and it showed Coors stadium.

Leave a Reply

