Lankwitz

Auf Wiedersehen Sister R and Dresden
Auf Wiedersehen Sister R and Dresden
The Drit (threesome companionship)
The Drit (threesome companionship)

Guten Morgen Liebe Familie,

This week has been fantastic.  I’m now in a lovely little place called Berlin, and a lovely little part of Berlin called LANKWITZ. 

So this week has been quite an adventure.  My new companions are Sister H (we were in the MTC together – she was last serving in Hamburg) and Sister T.  This is Sister T’s 3rd transfer!

I don’t know why, this is all crazy, but it is good!  So, yes Berlin is awesome.  Here we have U-bahns, which are subways.  They are a lot of fun.  They remind me of when I was in Washington DC. LOVE IT.

One thing I learned last week on my last night in Dresden is: when we were at FHE [Family Home Evening] and singing to the guitar, I realized that we had been singing a song a lot and that I was going to use this song as the motto for the rest of my mission.  Since I was about to take on the new adventure of being transferred into a drit [threesome]. So my new theme for my mission and my goal is:

This little light of MINE

I’m going to let it SHINE!

We used to sing this song all the time and it sounded awesome, of course, but I have now decided I will use this since I am here in Berlin and in a new district.  I’m working on letting my light shine.  I mean I am a missionary in Germany and it is almost time to say goodbye to the sun for a while but that doesn’t mean we can’t have any sun, right?  We will make our own light out of our love for Jesus Christ and sharing it with others.

So this week on Thursday to Friday we were lucky to do something called a Tausch.  This is where we have exchanges with a Sister training leader.  So Sister T left and all the sudden Sister H and I had to find our own way around Lankwitz to our appointments and WE DIDNT EVEN GET LOST. It was truly a miracle.  So now we are learning Lankwitz a lot better, we just have to pay attention. OH, AND IN BERLIN WE HAVE DUBBLE-DECKER BUSSES!  They are pretty awesome.  We like to sit in the front seat on top when it is open and pretend we are driving.  It is pretty great!!

This week has been awesome.  I am liking it a lot here, but of course I do miss my little Dresden, but Lankwitz is good too. The ward here is really awesome.

Every day I think to myself, wow, I’m so happy that I’m here on a mission and I just feel so lucky and I wanted you all to know how much I love being on a mission. It is so weird to me that yesterday I hit my 7 month in Germany mark, and then in about 2 weeks I will be hitting my half-way through mark.  But the one thing I’m realizing from all of this is that I’m just so lucky to be here and to love these people and to share my Pearl beyond Price (my testimony).  I want to let you all know how much I love this church. I got to bear my testimony at church yesterday and I was so nervous because I didn’t know anyone, but I knew that Heavenly Father was listening and that no matter what I said, He still loves me and that’s really why I’m here; to share His Gospel because I KNOW ITS TRUE.

I love you all so very much and thank you for supporting me and loving me and most importantly, for loving our Savior, Jesus Christ.

Liebe Grüße, Sister Ahrenholtz

Leave a Reply

