9 Months in and 9 Months to go!

The Berliner Dom
The Berliner Dom
Overlooking Berlin
Overlooking Berlin
My drit [companionship]
My drit [companionship]

Zeit geht schnell ja? [Time goes by fast, yes?]

Can you believe this Wednesday is my half-way mark? I sure can’t.  It is ”truly remarkable” (in a British accent) that I only have 9 more months left.  Well, since this week we hit our 9 in and 9 more to go mark I wanted to go off on a 9-thing rant.

9 THINGS IM THANKFUL FOR:

9: Letters.  Letters from my family keeping me updated on their lives and my friends lives and that they are so good and always keeping the mailbox full.

8: Germany.  Seriously this place is a magic land and sometimes I feel like Germany is the only place on the earth (hence, why I have a map of the world by my desk #realitycheck).

7: German language.  I speak a foreign language better than my English now.  I understand almost everything and it’s truly incredible. (It is weird for me to think that people speak English on the streets in America)

6: Joy.  I’m so thankful that we can be so happy here on missions and have so much life-long joy. It’s truly amazing

5: Smiles.  So here is the truth.  I don’t know if I have told you this experience; so the last day at the MTC I was packing and realized I didn’t know where my top retainer was.  So that night I got on my knees and said a prayer that I was going to be okay if I didn’t find it as long as I could still be able to brighten peoples days with a smile (I didn’t find it).  So then I came here and I was full of confidence and flashed my smile to everyone.  Then, last transfer, we were on a train and Sister Rasmussen and I were eating a candy bar that had caramel and I felt something irritating my bottom teeth.  Needless to say, about 20 minutes later my bottom retainer was off my teeth and in my hands.   Moral of the story (surprisingly wasn’t to make you mad, mom and dad) it was to say one thing people always say to me is that I am always smiling and happy and that’s how they will remember me.

4: Scriptures and Prophets.  Amazing stuff.  You guys I know it is true and I live that stuff every day and study it every day.  You should too.  I’m so thankful to be a member of the one church that has modern day revelation.

3: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  I’m so happy to be a member of this church and to share with other people the truth that it teaches and the love I have for it.

2: My testimony.  I feel so lucky to share it with everyone I meet.  I know this church is the true church and that it is the Church of Jesus Christ restored by Joseph Smith in these latter days.

1: My family.  I love you all so much.

Mom: You are such a great example to me of the kind of mother I want to be; always supporting us kids and dad in everything we do.

Dad: for serving the Lord in your church callings and for loving all of us kids the same and for getting baptized in this church and sharing your testimony.

Dev and Mel: for always being the sweetest people ever and for always loving me.  I always remember the phone calls Dev would randomly make to me just to talk; and Mel for always going to Andres with my Mom and me 🙂

Lissa and Sun: spending the last few days with us before I came on my mission and being so supportive of me being here and introducing Pitch Perfect to me 🙂  Aca-awesome!

Hayley:  for being my best friend and going to church, the best thing you can do in your life.

To everyone else:  Thank you so much for all your support and prayers on my behalf.  I am having a great experience, but it is also a major sacrifice and struggle at times.  But knowing you are supporting me gives me the strength to get up each morning.

I LOVE YOU SO MUCH MY FAMILY!

Every man gives his life for what he believes,
every woman gives her life for what she believes.
Sometimes people believe in little to nothing,
nevertheless they give up their lives to that little to nothing.
One life is all we have and we live it as we believe.
And life without belief is more terrible than dying young.
 -attributed to Joan of Arc.

I love you all so much and hope you have a lovely week! 🙂

AND I will see you in 9 months,

Bis dann!  [Until then]

Sister Ahrenholtz

Leave a Reply

