Babooshka

We bought matching cow socks.
We bought matching cow socks.

Ok, this subject is a word in Russian.  I spelt it like how it sounds. It means an old lady who you can tell has worked so hard her whole life.  She is a babooshka. Many reasons I wanted to share this word with you all today.

I have a new companion her name is Sister Fordham.  She is from Wisconsin but she has lived in Germany and Russia the last of couple years being a nanny and teaching English. She is 24 years old. She will be here for at least 2 and a half weeks – until the end of the transfer.  Which means she will be leaving on the 22nd probably. She is totally awesome.  She has been traveling the world and has gone to so many places.  We talk about that a lot because I want to travel so badly after my mission. We are still serving in Lankwitz and still living with the other sisters. She also taught me how to say Gesundheit in American Sign Language.

Back to being the tall companion!
Back to being the tall companion!

As you can tell from this picture, I am back to being the tall companion!

I want to be a babooshka, haha, obviously that would be totally awesome!! So my goal is to just work so hard so that I can be one someday.   Obviously not any day soon. Yes, that is the reason I put some random Russian word as my title for the week.

Anyway now to the good stuff…

So this week was great.  We got to celebrate the 9 month mark (as in we, I mean Sister Hansen and I because we came out at the same time) and it was FANTASTIC. I’m sooo excited for the next 9 months.  It’s going to rock!  We are going to work sooo hard!!! Here is a pic from the celebration day 🙂

Sister Hansen and I marking our half-way point.
Sister Hansen and I marking our half-way point.

Sister Hansen and I made a bunch of signs and just carried them around all day. It was an amazing day, but sure made me feel pretty old!! But in a good way!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

We all know November is an amazing month…This week on Freitag [Friday] is my 1 year mark of…RECEIVING MY MISSION CALL. Crazy, so crazy, right??

I remember sitting there all day totally testing my patience that we ALL KNOW I DONT HAVE (thanks dad) and trying to get everyone all linked up on the phone and then opening it and TAKING A PEEK…seeing…Germany Berlin mission…and my heart dropped.  I knew everyone would FREAK OUT.  Best moment ever, and then reading it and just bawling our eyeballs out for joy.  Then 15 minutes later heading off to Institute to tell my friends at church!!! 🙂

I’m super excited that I have known this for a year.  I fell so blessed to be here in the Germany Berlin mission and especially Germany.  I love it so much. I couldn’t have dreamed of anything more perfect than this.

Okay now the real stuff…Last P-day we went to this store that the missionaries like to call ‘the devil’s store’ I like to call it my best friend!  PRIMARK.  I have heard about this lovely place my whole mission.  It is like Forever 21 only cheaper, better quality and better because it has like everything you can possibly want.  And of course it had

CHRISTMAS THINGS 🙂  So I love this place and if y’all ever have the opportunity, hit it up..

This week was pretty fantastic and I’m just totally Christmas hungry.  I have been studying Christmas and Christ’s birth like all week.

CHRISTMAS JUNKIE:

THANKS MOM 🙂
love you:)

So my new compy [companion] and I made new goals for the 2 weeks we will be together. We are really focusing on SERVING OTHERS.
Here is a quote from my favorite talk from last general conference: it’s from President Uchtdorf (PLUS HE IS A GERMAN)

They want to put their
FAITH INTO PRACTICE.
 They want to ROLL UP THEIR SLEEVES
 and become engaged in this great cause.

I love this so much. Because we all need to practice our faith (which has to do with more than missionary service part) but it is totally wichtig [important] right? 🙂 ja. so then ”roll up their sleeves and become engaged in this great cause.”

As it comes closer to the holidays people will be willing to let you help them and you really ought to show your love for them and the love God has for them, a few really good scriptures I thought of are…
here are some end snippets from it.

Choose ye this day
whom ye will serve…
But as for me and my house
 we will serve the
Lord
Joshua 24:15

I love this scripture because it has to do with serving people and also serving the Lord.  There are so many ways we can serve the Lord. Smiling, saying hello, saying I love you, helping someone who is struggling, doing a service project, even if you aren’t able to do a lot because you’re not out a lot and on the go you can always serve others, call loved ones, ask if people need help, be a FRIEND. Also an AMAZING scripture in the Book of Mormon which you should also read. I mean its AMAZINGGGGG:

It says.

When ye are in the service
of your fellow beings
ye are only in the
service of your
 God.

Mosiah 2:17

 

I mean that is so stinking true, right??  God created ALL things.  People.  Everything we have.  So we are really just helping Him and serving Him. Talk about a great gift that we can give to our Heavenly Father, to serve His children. I’m sorry this is all over the place, I just feel that serving people is so important and it can also help us be less selfish which we all know it NOT a good thing.

SAY hello,

Smile,

Listen,

Love others,

Serve others,

Serve God.

 

I love you all so very much and I feel so thankful to feel your love always and also feel the effects of your prayers.  Thank you for being great examples to me and giving me motivation to work hard. I hope you all have an amazing week and remember…

You are children of God
 NOW SERVE HIM.

xoxoxo Sister Ahrenholtz

Leave a Reply

