Thanksgiving in Berlin

A small treat before Sister Fordham headed home.
A small treat before Sister Fordham headed home.

CAN YOU BELIEVE IT IS TRANSFER TIME AGAIN? I sure can’t.  We had transfer calls this Saturday and I’m happy to announce I will be staying in Lankwitz for Christmas! 🙂 I will be training Sister Miesbauer who I received as a companion last week.  Now I know more about her so I can tell you! 🙂 She is from Linz, Austria.  She is super cool and she is waiting for her visa to serve in the Salt Lake City Mission. She informed me that the reason she doesn’t have her visa yet is because the US government was shut down for a while.  I’m so happy I have these people in Europe telling me what is happening in the world!  Ha-ha.  Anyway, she is super good and she is going to make us Austrian food, so you best believe I’m super excited for that.

Today for P-day we have the TURKEY BOWL, which is with all the missionaries in Berlin North and South zones.  We get to play football.  Let’s be for real…I’m not playing!  We will probably go for 10 minutes or so then do something productive like…shopping 🙂

Turkey Bowl 2013
Turkey Bowl 2013

This photo was taken later today and posted on the mission blog.  It is of all the missionaries in the Berlin North and South zones.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Just so y’all know, next P-day when I get on I want to see lots of pictures of your food and of you all together as a family because I miss you all so much! 🙂 But this Thursday us Sisters are going to have a German thanksgiving meal. 🙂 We will have schnitzel, potatoes, pumpkin something, Sister Tenney’s brownies (she gave me the recipe – they are from the heavens).  I think that’s about it, but we are totally stoked for this meal! 🙂

This last week we have been finding new people to teach.  We have been going to the student housing and just been klingeling [ringing doors] thru the whole building and we have some pretty awesome people lined up to teach.

Saturday was Sister Rasmussen’s birthday and I got to call her.  It was the best thing ever. Of course when I hung up we were both crying, but she is doing great and also staying in Dresden. 🙂

So now to the real email!

I stand all amazed at the love Jesus offers me,

confused at the grace that so fully He proffers me.

I tremble to know that for me He was crucified,

That for me, a sinner, He suffered, He bled and died.
I marvel that He would descend from His throne divine

To rescue a soul so rebellious and proud as mine,

That He should extend His great love unto such as I,

Sufficient to own, to redeem, and to justify.
I think of His hands pierced and bleeding to pay the debt!

Such mercy, such love and devotion, can I forget?

No, no, I will praise and adore at the mercy seat,

Until at the glorified throne I kneel at His feet.

Oh, it is wonderful that He should care for me

Enough to die for me!

Oh, it is wonderful, wonderful to me!

 

This is what I am THANKFUL for this year; what Jesus Christ has done for ME, and US.

He is so amazing and truly gave up His life for us. One scripture I want to share with you is in the Bible. 

Greater love hath no man than this,

that a man lay down his life for his friends.

John 15:13

I love this scripture so much because He really did lay down His life for every single one of us and I am so thankful for that! 🙂 He has given the biggest gift EVER: which is to be able to live again beyond this mortal life. 🙂 In a lovely book, the Book of Mormon, a man named Alma says this:

”Let thy
heart be full
 of thanks unto
 God.”

 I encourage you to all pray to our dear Father in Heaven and thank Him for everything you are grateful for this holiday season. I’ve heard this while I’m on my mission: What if you woke up tomorrow morning with only the things you thanked God for last night. CRAZY RIGHT?  So get on your knees and THANK HEAVENLY FATHER for all the things He has given you.

And last, I want to share one more scripture; from Alma also:

”Counsel with the Lord in all thy doings,
and he will direct thee for good;
yea, when thou liest down at night
lie down unto the Lord,
that he may watch over you
in your sleep; and when thou risest
 in the morning let thy heart be full of
thanks
unto God;
and if ye do these things,
ye shall be lifted up at the last day.”
Alma 37:37

I love you all so very much and hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving and remember the things you are thankful for. I love you and miss you so much…and hey…next Thanksgiving we will all be together 🙂

Bis dann…[until then]

xoxoxo Sister Ahrenholtz

Leave a Reply

