Pre-Christmas

After the elevator ride!
After the elevator ride!

So my missionary laziness is really kicking in and I hate stairs so when an elevator is possible you best believe I take that opportunity; shocking, right mom? 🙂  So this last week we were doing good old missionary work and we happened to go to this pretty run-down building but HEY IT HAD AN ELEVATOR which is just like totally cool. So we got let into the building and headed up. Here are some things I have been leaving out: 1 – The elevator door didn’t close.  2 – It went really slow. 3 – It was just straight up slum.  And yes I am sure you’re guessing it – THE ELEVATOR STOPPED.  And it didn’t just stop, we could see half the door but half of it was still covered so I was planning on trying to push that half of the door open and try and climb up…it didn’t work. You best believe I was freaking out – maybe that is an understatement. It was totally horrible and all Sister Miesbauer and I could do was laugh or else we would cry but then we finally got it to work and made it to this ladies door safely – then of course she wouldn’t talk to us. THANK YOU LADY.  The next day we were doing doors in a building by an investigators house and it also had an elevator and yep you best believe IT ALSO STOPPED ON US. 2 times in like 2 days. We have great luck obviously! haha 🙂

Here is another thing: Sister Miesbauer almost has her visa so then I will go back in the drit [threesome] again with Sisters Hansen and Turner on the 30th.  Yes, I know my life has been all kinds of crazy.

Last funny story for the day…maybe.  So we have these new members in the ward who were baptized the week before I came here.  They are totally awesome. 
Birthday celebration for the king of Thailand
The mom is from Thailand and the girls are half Thai and so cute.  Well last night was a celebration for the king of Thailand.

We got to go to a celebration that was 2 hours long of mostly kids dancing.  Three of these girls are members in the ward here.  It was so much fun and totally something I never thought i would experience ever…or on my mission…in Germany.  Everyone was yelling chants in Thai.  It was pretty awesome 🙂

Okay…now the real serious stuff.  This week I studied about the actual birth of Jesus Christ!

So here are some things I learned 🙂  So here we go…here is a quote I found in the December issue of the church magazine

”the offering of the stable
was a blessing allowing
the most sacred birth
 in the human history
 to take place in reverent solitude”

-Elder Bruce D Porter

I thought about this and it’s so true.  I mean if Jesus had been born in a hotel it wouldn’t have been good enough.  He needed a spiritual place to be born where the spirit of him and his heavenly father could abound. So awesome. Mom, why wasn’t I born in a stable? Haha, just kidding.  I don’t even compare to how great He was. 🙂  But no really, I just think it is the most perfect place for Him to be born! I also wanted to go to the much known song Away In a Manger.  By the way we sang this song in church yesterday and we made a MASHUP ((like in Pitch Perfect) with these songs:  He Sent His Son and Lord I Will Follow Thee.)  Anyway, back on track now 🙂

So the last verse is one I really love.  It says:

”Be near me Lord Jesus
 I ask thee to stay
 close by me forever
 and love me I pray.
 Bless all the dear children
in Thy tender care,
and fit us for heaven
to live with Thee there”

I love this song just oh so much.  It is so beautiful and really fits so good when talking about the birth of Jesus. 🙂 Also the last verse in Oh Come All Ye Faithful. 🙂

”yea Lord we greet Thee
 born this happy morning
Jesus to Thee
be all glory giv’n
Son of the Father
now in flesh appearing
oh come let us adore Him
oh come let us adore Him
Christ the Lord.”

 

I also came across this great poem that our lovely President Monson put in the Christmas Liahona last year.

”I am the Christmas Spirit—

I enter the home of poverty, causing pale faced children to open their eyes wide, in pleased wonder.

I cause the miser’s clutched hand to relax and thus paint a bright spot on his soul.

I cause the aged to renew their youth and to laugh in the old glad way.

I keep romance alive in the heart of childhood, and brighten sleep with dreams woven of magic.

I cause eager feet to climb dark stairways with filled baskets, leaving behind hearts amazed at the goodness of the world.

I cause the prodigal to pause a moment on his wild, wasteful way and send to anxious love some little token that releases glad tears—tears which wash away the hard lines of sorrow.

I enter dark prison cells, reminding scarred manhood of what might have been and pointing forward to good days yet to be.

I come softly into the still, white home of pain, and lips that are too weak to speak just tremble in silent, eloquent gratitude.

In a thousand ways, I cause the weary world to look up into the face of God, and for a little moment forget the things that are small and wretched.

I am the Christmas Spirit.

 

Everyone: I just want you to have an amazing pre-Christmas time and really remember the reason for the season and what you can give Jesus as a gift this Christmas. I miss you all so much and hope you have an amazing week! 🙂

xoxox Sister Ahrenholtz

ps

16 DAYS
 TILL
CHRISTMAS!

 

Love you!

 

Leave a Reply

