Happy New Year

Sitting on the big guy's lap.
Sitting on the big guy’s lap.

Hello my lovely family and friends!  I hope everyone had a really good Christmas and also has an amazing New Year! 🙂

Okay so this week was really good :). Of course I mean it was Christmas which is an amazing time in Germany just so you know that! :).  I loved it so much and love how they celebrate everything.  I will for sure be bringing some of these things back to America :).

Remember how transfers were just like yesterday?  Well we get transfer calls again this Saturday.  Time goes by so fast and I’m going to be starting my 8th transfer.   It will be a very great one because I hit my 11 and 12 month mark in the same transfer.  Crazyness, right?  Anyway, so that is this Saturday.  I think I will be staying here but I really just have no idea. Sister Miesbauer will be getting her visa in 5 days so we aren’t sure what is going to be happening with her yet.  We are hoping she will be able to go to lovely America soon! 🙂

Christmas dinner!
Christmas dinner!

Here is a picture of our Christmas meal.  Some crawfish for ya and goose and duck.  Yeaaaaa….(sarcasm) and you best believe I asked someone else to crack my crawfish for me.  Yes, see those little black dots?  Yeah, those are eyes!! 🙂

Christmas PJs
Christmas PJs

Here is a picture of my cute Christmas pajamas.  Thanks mom and dad.  Hay, I just love this pillow so much 🙂

Anyway, this week was fantastic.  On the 26th we had a good cheese fondue meal with some members and that was perfect and so delicious!

I hope everyone had a great time at Christmas.  I finished reading the Book of Mormon on Christmas Day and I read it IN GERMAN and it was the most incredible\confusing\wonderful book I have ever read.  It was tough to read and understand it all, but it was so amazing.  I love the Book of Mormon.

This week I want to share something I have learned that is really important and that is: obedience!  First I’m going to start out with a story:  On Friday Sister Miesbauer and I were talking and I was saying how I’m a pretty obedient missionary but I could be better.  In our mission we are supposed to be speaking German with each other from 9 am to 9 pm and I haven’t been very good with that… at all.  Oops!  But when we were talking we decided to change that.  Saturday we woke up and were 100% obedient and kept all these mission rules and spoke German all day and it wasn’t even hard for me and when we were on the bus we would read scriptures of talks in the Liahona [church magazine] so that we were always focused on the Gospel and had not even a minute to think about anything else.   We also did this yesterday and these 2 days went by so fast.  Two of the best days of my entire mission!  It was so awesome and it really taught me the blessings that come when you are exactly obedient.  In the last week my German has gotten so much better and I’m so thankful for that.  I showed Heavenly Father that I am dedicated to this work and to learning German and He has blessed me.  Now to the point of this obedience thing…in Preach My Gospel [the missionary handbook] it says:

‘Obedience shows our love for God.

Disobedience brings us sorrow.”

In the Book of Mormon it has this scripture that I really love:
“And it came to pass that I, Nephi, said unto my father: I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.”

I love this so much because it is totally true.  God would not give us commandments and then not prepare a way for us!  In the Book of Mormon it also says: “If they did not doubt, God would deliver them.”  I think of obedience like that; if we don’t doubt that we can keep all of the commandments and do all that God asks us to do then he will deliver us and give us the things he has promised!

And a well-known scripture in the Bible says, “If ye love me, keep my commandments.”  Easy!  There you go!  Do it and I PROMISE you will receive so many blessings!  I hope you all can set some new goals of the new year and try to come a little closer to God this year.

Love you all sooo much and miss you!

I hope you have great new year.

xoxox Sister Ahrenholtz

PS:  One thing this last week I realized is that people need to stop having door mats and things on their door saying ‘WELCOME’ because let’s all be for real, we are not welcome into their houses.  If it’s true then put those things up, but if you want to slam a door in people’s faces don’t say ‘WELCOME’!  There is my rant of the week 🙂

Leave a Reply

