Leggings!

One Year - 6 Feb 2014
One Year – 6 Feb 2014
Sunset at the river.
Sunset at the river.

It is so warm in Germany right now, not like St. George warm, but like only one pair of leggings warm…wait you all have cars with heaters.  You don’t need more than one pair of leggings!!

So last week I left out a story so I figured I would pretend it happened today… so today we were getting groceries on our bikes, which is very hard because, well it just is.  Using a bike to carry huge grocery sacks is tough.  Sister Ricks and I haven’t learned how to do it right yet.  But as we were going home, the bag kept falling off the bike and so we were sitting on top of the bags and then we were going through an intersection and all the sudden I hear something fall.  It was a bag of flour.  So I figured I would stop and get it before a car ran over it, but it was too late.  All I could see was a huge white cloud of flour- ha ha.  Clearly this story doesn’t do justice to how it really was…shada [too bad]…but I’m not a huge fan of grocery shopping with bikes.  Especially when you have to buy a week’s worth of food for 4 sisters!

Last P-day we went to the Ritter Sport [like Hershey’s] candy store where you can put anything you want in a Ritter Sport.  It was pretty much amazing!!! I put caramelized coconut and almonds and then macadamia nuts.  It was  so delicious.  So that was pretty fun for a P-day activity.

 

One of the best days this past week was when we had exchanges with the Sister training leaders and so Sister Rasmussen and I were companions again.  It was so much fun 🙂  We were just happy and smiling and reminiscing the whole day!!!!

CAN YOU BELIEVE I HAVE BEEN ON MY MISSION FOR A YEAR?  I sure can’t.   It is crazy.  Sisters Ricks and Woodward both came here at the same time as me.  Of course, Sister Rasmussen put cute little things all over the house for us and she was just being so creative!!

I’m sure it’s hard to believe but I miss Mexican food so much.  This week we found a burrito shop that was supposed to be Mexican.  It was really good, but nothing like real Mexican food.  It made me realize that the first stop after I get home is either Café Rio or El Tepehuan 🙂

This week was just a lot of finding, but it was good.  We found a lot of people.  I figured I would share where people were from that we spoke with this week.

Netherlands
Israel
Italy
Afghanistan
Pakistan
Armenia
Jordan
India
Bangladesh
Iran
France
Kazakhstan

One man told us he was from ‘land with no faith’.  It was pretty depressing.  He would not tell us where though.  Finding is….interesting on Friday and Saturday nights.  I don’t even want to know how many parties we crashed, haha.  College students in Germany party on weekends.  I mean they were really willing to talk with us, but I don’t think they remember that they talked to us. One man from Italy had drank a lot, I’m assuming.  He was talking to us in Italian and I was pretending I understood him, but then when he asked a question we both looked at each other and said we don’t understand and then he would just laugh really hard and keep talking in Italian!  It was funny though and it kept us entertained but we actually did find some great people who were not drinking, so that was good.

This week was great but I can’t think of any more stories.

Today I wanted to talk about a lesson the Sister training leaders gave us at zone conference.

Get
 TRUNKY
for
Heaven.

Trunky is a word missionaries use when they think about home a lot or are getting close to the end of their mission. 

http://www.lds.org/media-library/video/2013-01-002-earthly-father-heavenly-father?lang=eng
I’m sure I have shared this video before but watch it.  I’m so in love with this video and everything it has to say.  Think about this question as you watch the video…”what is the single most important thing to you?”

The Prophets of the church have said the most important work you will do is within the walls of your own home.

Today I wanted to talk about family and about how we can live with our families for ETERNITY.

Here are the words to a song we sing in our church.  I love this song so much and have loved it ever since I was a kid.

I have a family here on earth.
They are so good to me.
I want to share my life with them through all eternity.
While I am in my early years,
I’ll prepare most carefully,
So I can marry in God’s temple for eternity.
Families can be together forever
Through Heavenly Father’s plan.
I always want to be with my own family
And the Lord has shown me how I can.
The Lord has shown me how I can.

This song brings me so much hope of how we can really show our love for our family and I’m so thankful to have all of you and to be sealed to my family for eternity.  I want all of you to think what trunky for heaven means.  For me it means I want to live with my Heavenly Father, His Son, Jesus Christ and my family for eternity.  And I will do anything I can, to do that.

How will you change in order to help your life, your family’s life, and your future family’s life?

The most important thing to take from all of these things is, and I want you all to know:

YOU

are a
CHILD
of GOD

and
GOD loves

ALL of His

CHILDREN:

One more video for you to watch
http://www.mormonchannel.org/video/mormon-messages/topics/children?v=1101413030001

 The “I am a child of God” video

Have a good day.  I love you all so much.

xoxox Sister Ahrenholtz

Leave a Reply

