Borscht

Hallo meine liebe Familie und Freunde, [Hello my lovely family and friends.]

I know it’s hard to believe but transfers are over again and I’m sure you can tell since I’m not giving you any suspense, I will be staying in Marzahn and all the Sisters in our house will also be staying the same!! This is my 5th transfer where I will be living in the same place as Sister Rasmussen.  And Sister Ricks is just the best companion ever! 🙂

Well I hope you all had an amazing week.  We sure did here in Germany.  It was beautiful weather again.  I’m pretty sure it won’t be snowing again.  Let’s cross our fingers!! 🙂

Well this week…hmm…where should I start…

 

Hot chocolate spill.
Hot chocolate spill.

Devin, do you remember when I used to spill a drink every time we had dinner with you?  Well, Sunday I spilt my drink all over a members table, then as you can see in this picture, one day I got hot schokolade [chocolate] and hit it with my elbow and knocked it off the counter and it got all over my hair and my jacket and skirt.  Good thing it is almost spring in Germany because that would have been very cold to not wear my jacket in winter in Germany.  I was hoping I would never have to dry clean this jacket and just throw it away before I come home but…I will get it back from the dry cleaners on Wednesday. All because Germans don’t put enough sugar in their hot schokolade.

Second, this week we wanted to make a Russian soup called borscht and I was the lucky one to cut up the red beets.  By the way, now I eat beets also.  I’m changing so much.

The soup was delicious soup and was fun to make.  My fingers were red for only 2 days!

Making borscht.
Making borscht.

For Valentine’s Day we Sisters decided we would make our red borscht soup because it went perfectly with the theme. 🙂 So that is what we did on the great holiday as Missionaries.

I promise that I’m not just eating food the whole time I am in Germany, it is just the only time I ever have a chance to sit down and take out my camera. 🙂

This week was fantastic and I’m so happy to be staying here in Marzahn.  The Ward here is amazing and so are all the Missionaries! Oh hey, by the way, we FINALLY have a whole 2 German investigators!! 🙂 Yayyyyyyy!!! It is possible!  Who would have thought? 🙂 This week we only met people from India, Cameroon, and China. 🙂  We actually found a bunch of friends from India and we are having a lesson with them all this week at the same time

This week I want to talk about HOPE.

“Hope is the anchor of our souls.  Hope is trust in God’s promises.  Faith that if we act now, the desired blessings will be fulfilled in the future.  The unfailing source of hope is that we are sons and daughters of God and that his Son, the Lord Jesus Christ, saved us from death.”

I love this scripture soooo very much.  It helps me so much everyday as a missionary.  All we need is hope, then things will come to pass.

 Wherefore, whoso believeth in God might
with surety hope for a better world,
yea, even a place at the right hand of God,
which hope cometh of faith,
maketh an anchor to the souls of men,
which would make them sure and steadfast,
 always abounding in good works,
 being led to glorify God.

Ether 12:4

I love the words to this song.  It is called ‘Our Saviors Love’.  I know that real life is very hard and you have many things to do but I promise that when you always have hope, and hope for better things, they will happen!

Our Savior’s love shines like the sun with perfect light,

As from above it breaks thru clouds of strife.

Lighting our way, it leads us back into His sight,

Where we may stay to share eternal life.
Our Father, God of all creation, hear us pray

In rev’rence, awed by thy Son’s sacrifice.

Praises we sing. We love Thy law; we will obey.

Our heav’nly King, in Thee our hearts rejoice.
The Spirit, voice of goodness, whispers to our hearts

A better choice than evil’s anguished cries.

Loud may the sound of hope ring till all doubt departs,

And we are bound to Him by loving ties.

I love you all so much and hope you have an amazing week full of blessings and happiness!!!

xoxox

Sister Ahrenholtz

Leave a Reply

