Museum trip.

Just two weeks!  This is me freaking out that I get to see your faces on Skype in two weeks!!!! I miss you all and love you so much!!!

AND that I get to see you in real life in 3 months!  This is freaking me out even more.  It’s because I don’t know what to think…I have mixed feelings about leaving here. 

Anyway…how y’all doing? Hopefully good because I am doing great.  It is hard to believe that this weekend is transfer calls again.  I really hope I get to stay in this great city the rest of my mission.  Everyone is just so fantastic.  I love it. I will let you know next week whether I am staying or being transferred. 

This week has just been normal.  Nothing too special.  We got to finally do a service project.  It was fun.  We got to pull weeds.  It made me wish I was back in Dammeron pulling weeds when we used to get paid for a bucket of pulled weeds.  It was fun.  Then it started raining, and I, being in love with rain, stayed outside while all the other missionaries went and looked for cover…babies! 

The lilacs here are amazing right now.  I have to stop every time we walk past them and every time I think of the big bush that was right by great-grandma’s house.  That always smelled soooooooo delicious.

Last P-day we went to a Jewish museum that was…………..cool?  I sure realized that I am not really a fan of museums, but it was something good to learn!  It was just a great week.  I mean…let’s be for real…every week is a great week in the life of a Sister Missionary. #halla

Today I want to share something about repentance and about what it really means.  That is something I have learned a lot about this week because we had to teach the Sunday school class at church yesterday!!  Here are the steps of repentance:

REPENTANCE -Recognize sins

-Feel sorry for what you did

-Stop sinning

-Make everything good again

-Forgive others and ask for forgiveness

-Keep the commandments

I want to add a few things about this from a fantastic talk by the one and only President Uchtdorf:

”As long as we are willing to rise up again and continue on the path, … we can learn something from failure and become better and happier.”

Our destiny is not determined by the number of times we stumble, but by the number of times we rise up, dust ourselves off, and move forward.

The Apostle Paul taught that “godly sorrow worketh repentance to salvation… but the sorrow of the world worketh death.”

 Godly sorrow inspires change and hope through the Atonement of Jesus Christ.

Worldly sorrow pulls us down, extinguishes hope, and persuades us to give in to further temptation.

Godly sorrow leads to conversion and a change of heart. It causes us to hate sin and love goodness. It encourages us to stand up and walk in the light of Christ’s love. True repentance is about transformation, not torture or torment. Yes, heartfelt regret and true remorse for disobedience are often painful and very important steps in the sacred process of repentance. But when guilt leads to self-loathing or prevents us from rising up again, it is impeding rather than promoting our repentance.

We have a champion, a Savior, who walked through the valley of the shadow of death on our behalf. He gave Himself as a ransom for our sins. No one has ever had greater love than this—Jesus Christ, the Lamb without blemish, willingly laid Himself on the altar of sacrifice and paid the price for our sins to “the uttermost farthing.” He took upon Himself our suffering. He took our burdens, our guilt upon His shoulders. My dear friends, when we decide to come to Him, when we take upon ourselves His name and boldly walk in the path of discipleship, then through the Atonement we are promised not only happiness and “peace in this world” but also “eternal life in the world to come.”

I will leave it up to him to teach you all, but I know with my whole heart that we can be forgiven because our Savior Jesus Christ has suffered all, for us.

I love you so much and want you to never forget that. 

Our Savior
Our Savior

 

And so does He.

xoxoxox

Sister Ahrenholtz

In the Jewish museum you walk on faces.  It’s actually really sad.  I felt bad for walking on it.

Jewish Museum
Jewish Museum

 

10,000 faces punched out of steel are distributed on the ground of the “Memory Void,” the only “voided” space of the museum that can be entered. Israeli artist Menashe Kadishman dedicated his artwork not only to Jews killed during the Shoah, but to all victims of violence and war. Visitors are invited to walk on the faces and listen to the sounds created by the metal sheets, as they clang and rattle against one another.

Leave a Reply

