This can’t be for real!!

1 – Only one month and I will be home.

2 – Only one week and I will be 21.

3 – Okay, that’s all.

Holy cow does time go by so stinking fast.  Man it kills me!

This week was really great though!

Last week for P-day I finally took Sister Ricks to IKEA and she loved it 🙂 I think it was pretty great.  We got to watch the world cup.  It was really weird.  I felt like I was being a sinner for watching TV because we aren’t supposed to watch any TV while on our mission, but the whole mission got permission and it is a good thing we did watch it because we had 4 investigators come and watch it with us.  And of course Sister Ricks and I went to the store and bought all the food that looked American and we wore red white and blue.  It was so great!

This week we had tausch [splits] and that was good.  Also we got to see so many miracles. 

This week Sister Ricks and I received our ‘dead letters’ (pretty much a letter that breaks your heart telling you that you are leaving the mission).  It was very sad. It’s a good thing Sister Ricks is here and going through the same feelings.  

We were able to meet with the cutest new member.  She is just so sweet.  She is from Romania and when we were there she said ”when you come it is like a holiday for me”.  She was just so happy.  Her daughter is pregnant and was supposed to have her baby on Saturday but still hasn’t had it.  The whole time I was just hoping ‘please let this happen with Melissa so he’s not born before I get home:) Ha-ha. 

Yesterday we had 5 investigators at church.  That is the most I have had at church at one time.  It was amazing and kind of stressful but just so great and they all loved it so much.  Two were able to stay after for a baptism that the Elders were having and it was awesome. 

We also had a visitor at church yesterday.  He is in the 3rd Quorum of the Seventy [the Seventy are church officials who give part-time voluntary Church service within their assigned geographic areas] and he was so nice.  He took us missionaries in a room and asked us to tell him about our missions in 3 minutes.  The Spirit was so strong and then we all bore our testimonies to each other.   It was so spiritual and really strengthened my testimony so much. His name is Elder Adler, he is from Bielefeld, which is between Bremen and Dusseldorf.  He was really nice and just brought a great spirit!

Here is what we learned about yesterday in 3rd hour.  You all should watch this video, it is very cute, talking about finding our ancestors.  The subject is Indexing, which is taking paper documents or other records and converting them to digital media which can be shared by anyone.  https://www.lds.org/media-library/video/2013-03-01-familysearch-indexing-is-vital?lang=eng

Today I want to talk about faith and how it has helped me.  I have probably shared this before but as I have been meeting with these amazing Africans, they have done one thing that has really helped me be a better person, missionary, member and Christian. They have strengthened my faith more than anything.  Meeting with these wonderful people I have been able to learn about their unshakable faith in Jesus Christ and come to learn that they believe 100 % that they can do what this amazing scripture in Matthew shares with us.

Matthew 17:20 And Jesus said unto them, Because of your unbelief: for verily I say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain,

Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.

I now have been strengthened by their amazing faith that I have found out for myself that I and YOU and ALL OF US CAN MOVE MOUNTAINS IF WE HAVE FAITH.

What is FAITH?  Confidence in something or someone. As most often used in the scriptures, faith is confidence and trust in Jesus Christ that lead a person to obey Him.

Faith must be centered in Jesus Christ in order for it to lead a person to salvation.

Latter-day Saints also have faith in God the Father, the Holy Ghost, priesthood power, and other important aspects of the restored gospel.

Faith includes a hope for things which are not seen, but which are true (Heb. 11:1; Alma 32:21; Ether 12:6).

Faith is kindled by hearing the gospel taught by authorized administrators sent by God (Rom. 10:14–17).

Miracles do not produce faith, but strong faith is developed by obedience to the

Gospel of Jesus Christ. In other words, faith comes by righteousness (Alma 32:40–43; Ether 12:4, 6, 12; D&C 63:9–12).

True faith brings miracles, visions, dreams, healings, and all the gifts of God that He gives to his Saints. By faith one obtains a remission of sins and eventually is able to dwell in God’s presence. A lack of faith leads one to despair, which comes because of iniquity (Moroni: 10:22).

I LOVE YOU ALL SO MUCH. MORE THEN YOU EVEN KNOW.

I PRAY FOR YOU AND I THINK ABOUT YOU AND I HOPE YOU WILL EXERCISE THIS KIND OF FAITH

XOXOXOX SISTER AHRENHOLTZ

Leave a Reply

